Southern Methodist University (SMU)

Southern Methodist University (SMU) is a private research university in Dallas, University Park, and Highland Park, Texas. Founded in 1911 by the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, SMU operates satellite campuses in Plano, Texas, and Taos, New Mexico. SMU is owned by the South Central Jurisdiction of the United Methodist Church. Of the university's 11,643 students, 6,411 are undergraduates.

SMU has seven degree-granting schools:

  • Cox School of Business
  • Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Dedman School of Law
  • Meadows School of the Arts
  • Perkins School of Theology
  • Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education & Human Development
  • Lyle School of Engineering

Endowment and financial resources

SMU's endowment of $1.505 billion as of June 30, 2015 ranks #64 among the largest endowments of any university in the United States and Canada, and makes it one of only 95 colleges and universities in the United States and Canada with an endowment of $1 billion and above. It is the 41st largest endowment of any private university in the United States as of June 30, 2015.

On December 31, 2015, SMU successfully completed a $1 billion fundraising campaign, "The Centennial Campaign", coinciding with the 100-year anniversary of its opening. It was the largest fundraising campaign in North Texas's history and made SMU one of only 34 private colleges and universities in the United States to complete a campaign of $1 billion or more. Its previous fundraising campaign, "A Time to Lead", concluded in 2002 and raised $542 million, the largest fundraising campaign in the school’s history at the time.

On February 26, 2016, SMU announced that the "The Centennial Campaign" had raised $1.15 billion, the largest total for a private Texas university.

Go international
America : United States (South West)
Institution type
Non French Institutions : University or university institute