Democracy Visiting Fellowships

Democracy Visiting Fellowships

The Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation invites faculty, doctoral, and postdoctoral students to apply to its Democracy Visiting Fellowship Program and further their research on substantive democratic governance issues.

We are broadly interdisciplinary and invite scholars who use approaches from political theory and philosophy, political science, sociology, law, or history. We are especially interested in drawing scholars whose work focuses on innovations in public participation and political participation in democracies or non-democracies.


The duration of the fellowship is one academic year, lasting August 1 until July 31. Visiting Fellows will be expected to participate in a weekly community seminar series and engage in the activities of the Ash Center and Harvard Kennedy School more broadly. The Democracy Visiting Fellowship carries a modest administration fee, and offers institutional support including physical and online library access, access to Harvard's electronic resources, and use of our shared fellow study space. If required, dedicated office space can be arranged that carries an additional fee.

How to Apply

Applications for AY 2022-2023 can be submitted online by following this link. The deadline for applications is Sunday, December 5, 2021 at 11:59 pm ET.

The Ash Center is a vibrant and values-driven community. We are committed to diversity and welcome people of varied backgrounds, cultures, experiences, and disciplines. We actively seek applications from people of color, women, the LGBTQIA+ community, persons with disabilities, and underrepresented backgrounds.

Harvard is an equal opportunity employer and all qualified applicants will receive consideration for employment without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability status, protected veteran status, gender identity, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected by law.

If you have questions, please contact Jose Martinez.

Date de candidature
one academic year
Sciences sociales : Droit, Relations internationales, Science politique, Sociologie