Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society Research Fellowships

The Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society is pleased to invite applications for research fellowships (Junior Researcher Fellowships as well as Senior Researcher Fellowships) for the years 2018, 2019, and 2020.

Our goal is to establish and cultivate fruitful collaborations between the Weizenbaum Institute and researchers around the globe.

Visiting fellows will be hosted at the Institute for a period of one to six months. They will have the opportunity to conduct research on-site in Berlin, one of Europe’s most vibrant cities. The Weizenbaum Institute is located in the heart of Berlin, close to the metro station/traffic hub Zoologischer Garten.

For our visiting scholars, the Weizenbaum Institute offers an inspiring multi-disciplinary research environment with access to other leading research institutions. The Berlin-Brandenburg consortium focuses on the interaction between the social sciences, economics, and law, with design research and computer science. About 150 international and national researchers from various disciplines are working at the institute.

Research stays should be related to the research areas of the Weizenbaum Institute’s research groups and should lead to publications and to the preparation of interdisciplinary collaborations.

The fellowship includes appropriate financial support to visiting fellows provided by one of the seven founding institutions of the Weizenbaum Institute.

How to apply?

Fellows will work with one of the 20 research groups hosted by the seven partner organisations.

The Weizenbaum Institute is a collaborative project of the four Berlin universities – Freie Universität Berlin (FU), Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU), Technische Universität Berlin (TU), Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK) – as well as the Universität Potsdam (UP) and the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS) and the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB).

Step 1: Request for information on availability

Important: please contact the contact person mentioned below in order to clarify whether there are research fellowships available for the respective period and in the desired working group. Only in this case the submission of a full application is required.

Step 2: Application

Applications must include a curriculum vitae, a list of publications, a two-page project description, information about previous work, and your planned working program for the duration of your research stay. Projects resulting in publications are highly encouraged.
Applications should clearly define target outcomes (e.g. publications, grant proposals, etc.). The applicant’s curriculum vitae and the fit of the proposed project to the overall research program and aims of the Weizenbaum Institute will be essential for our consideration.
Please also indicate and specify if you apply for fellowships at several research groups.

Research Groups and Contact persons:

RG 1: “Working in highly automated processes”┋WZB┋Dr. Florian Butollo┋florian.butollo@wzb.eu

RG 2: “Production Possibilities of the Maker Culture”┋UdK┋Dr. André Renz┋a.renz@udk-berlin.de

RG 4: “Data as a means of payment”┋HU┋Dr. Zohar Efroni┋zohar.efroni@rewi.hu-berlin.de

RG 5: “Data-based business model innovation”┋UdK┋Dr. André Renz┋a.renz@udk-berlin.de

RG 6: “Responsibility and the Internet of Things”┋TU┋Dr. Stefan Ullrich┋stefan.ullrich@tu-berlin.de

RG 7: “Education and training in the digital society”┋UP┋Dr. Gergana Vladova┋gergana.vladova@wi.uni-potsdam.de

RG 8: “Inequality and digital Sovereignty”┋UdK┋Dr. André Renz┋a.renz@udk-berlin.de

RG 9: “Digital technologies and well-being”┋UP┋Annika Baumann┋annibaumann@uni-potsdam.de

RG 10: “Digital integration”┋UP┋Prof. Dr. Hanna Krasnova┋krasnova@uni-potsdam.de

RG 11: “Digitalization and Science”┋FOKUS┋Dr. Sonja Schimmler┋sonja.schimmler@fokus.fraunhofer.de

RG 12: “Democracy and Digitalization”┋WZB┋Dr. Thorsten Thiel┋thorsten.thiel@wzb.eu

RG 13: “Digital Citizenship”┋FU┋Dr. Pablo Porten-Cheé┋p.porten-chee@fu-berlin.de

RG 14: “News, Campaigns and Rationality of Public Discourses”┋FU┋Dr. Ulrike Klinger┋ulrike.klinger@fu-berlin.de

RG 16: “Shifts in norm setting”┋HU┋Dr. Zohar Efroni┋zohar.efroni@rewi.hu-berlin.de

RG 17: “Trust in distributed environments”┋HU┋Dr. Martin Florian┋martin.florian@hu-berlin.de

RG 18: “Quantification and Regulation”┋WZB┋Dr. Lena Ulbricht┋lena.ulbricht@wzb.eu

RG 19: “Digitalization and Public Safety”┋FOKUS┋Richard Huber┋richard.huber@fokus.fraunhofer.de

RG 20: “Criticality of software-based systems”┋TU┋Dr. Diana Serbanescu┋diana-alina.serbanescu@tu-berlin.de

Duration
1-6 months
Country
Europe : Germany
Discipline
Social sciences : Business and Administrative Sciences, Communication Sciences, Demography, Economics, Environmental Sciences, Gender Studies, Law, Pedagogic & Education Research, Psychology & Cognitive Sciences, Social Anthropology, Sociology
Other : Computer science
Required post-doc experience
Between 0 and 99 years
Share