University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, also known as U of I, University of Illinois, UIUC, or simply Illinois, is a public research-intensive university in the U.S. state of Illinois. Founded in 1867 as a Land-grant institution in the twin cities of Champaign and Urbana (together known as Champaign–Urbana), it is the flagship campus of the University of Illinois system and a founding member of the Big Ten Conference.

The University of Illinois is a member of the Association of American Universities and is classified as a RU/VH Research University under the Carnegie Classification system which denotes very high research activities. In fiscal year 2015, total research expedentures at Illinois totaled $640 million. The campus library system possesses the second-largest university library in the United States after Harvard University.

The university comprises 17 colleges that offer more than 150 programs of study. Additionally, the university operates an extension that offers educational programs to more than 1.5 million registrants per year around the state of Illinois and beyond. The university holds 647 buildings on 4,552 acres (1,842 ha) and its annual operating budget in 2016 was over $2 billion. Even though Illinois is a public state university, only about 12% of the budget comes from state taxpayers; the balance is provided mostly by roughly equal parts student tuition and research grants.

America : United States (Great Lakes)
Institution type
Non French Institutions : University or university institute

Calls in progress

No call in progress available for this institution.