Montpellier Advanced Knowledge Institute on Transitions (MAK'IT)

The Montpellier Advanced Knowledge Institute on Transitions (MAK’IT) is a newcomer among the Institutes of Advanced Studies (IAS) and one of the flagship projects of the “Montpellier University of Excellence” initiative.

Launched in the first quarter 2019, MAK’IT contributes, by mobilizing scientific communities for the development of a new collective intelligence on action towards sustainable development, to the international visibility of the University of Montpellier and its strategic partners.

One vision

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), adopted under the aegis of the United Nations, will only be achieved by 2030 through a profound transformation of our societies towards more innovative, integrative and adaptive models. This transformation necessitates a series of major transitions that need to be orchestrated to address the nexuses bringing together of health, environment and climate change, food and agriculture. From local to global contexts, they represent many new challenges to be addressed by research and teaching. MAK’IT’s ambition is to contribute to the renewal of the places and forms of scientific knowledge mobilisation and to invent new fora to address the multiple controversies provoked by these changes.

One mission

Analyse, accompany and accelerate health, environmental, and agriculture and food transitions necessary to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Calls
Mobility
Come to France
Fund individual research
Fund collaborative research
Country
Europe : France (South-East)
Institution type
French Institutions : Institute for advanced study

Montpellier Advanced Knowledge Institute on Transitions (MAK'IT)

Nouveau venu parmi les Instituts d’études Avancées (IEA), le Montpellier Advanced Knowledge Institute on Transitions (MAK’IT) est l’un des projets phares de l’Initiative « Montpellier Université d’Excellence » (MUSE).

Lancé officiellement début 2019, espace d’élaboration d’une intelligence collective de l’action pour le développement durable via la mobilisation des communautés scientifiques, MAK’IT contribue au rayonnement international de l’université de Montpellier et de ses partenaires stratégiques.

Une vision

Les Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD), tels qu’adoptés sous l’égide des Nations Unies, ne seront atteints à l’horizon 2030 qu’à la condition d’une profonde transformation de nos sociétés, vers des modèles plus innovants, intégratifs et adaptatifs. Cette transformation repose sur une série de transitions majeures à orchestrer au croisement des domaines de la  santé, de l’environnement et du climat, de l’agriculture et de l’alimentation. Du local au global, elles représentent, pour la recherche et l’enseignement, autant de défis à accompagner. Renouveler les lieux et formes de mobilisation de la connaissance scientifique et inventer de nouvelles enceintes où appréhender les controverses, multiples, suscitées par ces changements, c’est l’objectif que se fixe MAK’IT.

Une Mission

Analyser, accompagner et accélérer les transitions sanitaires, environnementales, agricoles et alimentaires, nécessaires à la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

Appels
Mobilité
Venir en France
Financer une recherche
Financer un projet collectif
Pays
Europe : France (Sud-Est)
Type d'institution
Institutions Françaises : Institut d’études avancées